A swan song for UM’s many, many long lost leaders

  • 1 min to read

The resignation of forestry dean Tom DeLuca adds to the ever-growing list of UM deans, administrators and high-ranking officials who have left their positions at the University of Montana. Only four of the 14 deans who were at UM in fall 2016 still fill those positions.

The following in the president’s cabinet or academic officers are no longer in their positions at the University of Montana, since 2016. 

  • Royce Engstrom, former president, University of Montana
  • Sheila Stearns, former interim president, University of Montana
  • Beverly Edmond, former interim provost, University of Montana
  • Tom Crady, former vice president, enrollment management and student affairs
  • Michael Reid, former vice president, administration and finance
  • Rosi Keller, former interim vice president, administration and finance
  • Matt Riley, former chief information officer
  • Mario Schulzke, former associate vice president for integrated communications and chief marketing officer
  • Rhondie Voorhees, former dean of students
  • Larry Abramson, former dean, School of Journalism
  • Chris Comer, former dean, College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Tom DeLuca, former dean, College of Forestry
  • Roberta Evans, former dean, College of Education
  • Stephen Kalm, former dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Roger Maclean, former dean, School of Extended and Lifelong Learning
  • Shannon O’Brien, former dean, Missoula College
  • Christopher Shook, former dean, College of Business
  • Brock Tessman, former dean, Davidson Honors College
  • Shali Zhang, former dean, libraries

Hundreds of other staff, professors and adjuncts have left the University due to budget cuts, buyouts and better chances elsewhere.

UM’s administrators have repeatedly said recruiting and retaining students is the top priority of the University. Clearly, retaining leadership is not.